Getting charged with a DUI or DWI can be very annoying. You can face prison terms, heavy fines and the loss of your driving license. It is very important to have a lawyer at your side that knows the law and can defend your rights! An experienced DUI attorney in Richmond, VA can increase your chances of successfully defending your case. In Virginia, driving under the influence or driving in frenzy is not a traffic violation – it’s a crime! They are handcuffed, arrested, taken to prison, and brought to justice. If you are burdened with a DUI or DWI, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI / DWI lawyer immediately. The lawyers at SRIS, P.C.’s law firms offer legal advice.
DUI / DWI DEFINITIONS in Virginia, drunk driving refers to driving (an automobile, boat, or watercraft) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more. In some cases, you can be convicted of an even lower BAC for DUI / DWI. You can also be burdened with a DUI / DWI if you are under the influence of an anesthetic or another self-administered intoxicant. This even includes prescription drugs and over-the-counter medications. You can be convicted of DUI if it is proven that you are driving while an intoxicant is affecting your skills, including judgment, coordination, and response time.
DUI-BREATH TESTS If you are arrested for a DUI / DWI, you will receive either a breath or blood test. If you refuse to take the test, you will likely be charged with violating the refusal. If you are convicted of this civil offense, the DMV in Virginia will suspend your driving license for 12 months, in addition to the suspensions granted by the court for a DUI / DWI conviction. If you have either a previous breath test refusal or a previous DUI conviction, the breath test refusal will be charged with a criminal offense that can result in up to one year in prison and a three-year license suspension.
DUI / DWI PENALTIES Anyone under the age of 21 who is convicted of driving with just 0.02% BAC will face a $ 500 fine, six-month license ban, and prison sentence. People under the age of 21 who are under the influence of drugs or with a BAC of 0.08% or more are subject to the same penalties as those over the age of 21.
Virginia’s DMV brochure, “It Can’t Happen to Me,” details the Virginia DUI’s laws and penalties. It also includes other alcohol-related offenses, such as alcohol-owned minors, open container laws, and the use of a fake ID to purchase alcohol. The drinking and driving side of the DMV can also lead you to further facts, statistics, myths and resources on this topic.
Since a DUI charge is a serious crime, you should consult an experienced DUI / DWI lawyer before going to court. Keep in mind that the guidance of an experienced DUI / DWI attorney can increase your chances of successfully defending your driving rights if you have been charged with DUI / DWI in Richmond